Thread: Building flight time?

Post Building flight time?

Hello,

I'm a private pilot with 170 hours of flight time still working on instrument and commercial rating. I would like to make a career as an alaskan pilot. I'm currently also in college for BS in aviation management.
    Is there any ways to cut down on costs to be able to build flight time as I'm limited on funds and how much I can fly a year between college tuition.

Also, who do you consider a bush pilot? Are there still flying careers in Alaska for bush pilots? Or is term professional bush pilot not even used in Alaska anymore? This is a career I've been pursuing my entire life, and would be really grateful for some help and mentoring.

Thanks,
    Dan

Default pm me

you going to school local to anchorage. If you are maybe we can sit down at a coffee shop and discuss this. There are lots of options. The good thing is your getting that 4 yr degree!

Default Bush Flying

Dan, It depends on what your goals are. Do you really want to fly the bush or do you want to work your way up to an airline/cargo job? I got many good flying hours in the CAP and a beaver float checkout in the process. After that I was able to land a commercial job flying beavers in the bush. On the other hand if you want to be an airline pilot stick to the wheel planes, again CAP for free time building , then an air taxi job. Get your CFI as soon as possible so you can start earning money flying instead of paying for it.

The bad news, there isn't any easy way. The good news there are ways, and if there was an easy way you chose you wouldn't make it in the business.