Thread: auger repair?

Default auger repair?

i bought an auger from sportsman's a couple winters ago that needs a bit of a tune up and don't know who services them.

i fear that i may have to but a jiffy if i can't get my viper going.

BRING ON THE ICE!!!

Default Here is what I did with my auger

I have a strikemaster, I sent my power head back to them in Big Lake MN and they had it back to me in a week. They have excellent customer service. As a rule, you should put a new spark plug in your auger every season and make sure you mix you oil and gas to proper ratio. I needed some throttle springs fixed. There isnt a whole lot to tune up on them. Try not to have your auger bang around in a sled. An auger bit can be bent very easily in the back of a snowmachine sled. I hope you get it fixed soon. Can go wrong with a Jiffy or Strikemaster. Jiffy seems more durable as they use more metal on everything, but Strikemasters are lighter. I have a spare Strikemaster Lazer power head, but have been using my Mag 3000 for 9 years now and it is still going strong. Fires up every time. Lots of guys let the handle go when they start it up and I NEVER do this. If you do, you will chip out the plastic on the starter cog reel from the recoil kickback from the engine. Always let your auger warm up for 2 minutes before you start drilling as well. I think that is why mine has lasted so long.

I suspect you may have an Eskimo auger. There is a small engine repair shop in Anchorage, but it still might be cheaper to send your power head to the factory. I even send my auger blades back to Strikemaster and have them sharpen them for me.