Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ice Fishing?

Default Ice Fishing?

Hey all,
    Does anyone ice fish? I hope this is the right forum. I'm new to Alaska, and fishing in general really, and would like to try some ice fishing. I'm currently reading up on flyfishing for the spring, however with the weather change I'd like to try ice fishing. Mainly lake trout I guess.
    I have a 6 y/o that loves fishing and would like to get out too and I'd like to get out with the right stuff.
    I'm thinking a small shelter would be good with a small heater. Portability is a must.
    What would be a good shelter?
    What are the good lakes around Eagle river, Anchorage area?
    What do they bite on?
    Any help or getting me going in the right direction would be appreciated.
    Thanks.

Welcome to Alaska.

Do you mean lake trout or rainbow trout in a lake?

There are alot of rainbow lakes around, some better than others.

There are only a few that have lake trout. Long Lake (mile 86 Glenn highway), Lake Louise near Glennallen, Kenai Lake, Skilak Lake, Hidden Lake (last 3 on the Kenai).

Try pike. Fire Lake has a few right there in Eagle River. Nancy Lake on the Parks has some nice ones.

If you are buying a motorized auger. Get a 10" one if you are going for lakers or large pike.

Lures and baits vary.

Huts can be seen at Freddies and Sportsmans Warehouse. Try Craigslist also.

Mike

Default YES!

ice fishing is very doable up here! It's not quite as popular as the stream fishing in the summer, but I like it that way!! Drop me a line if your going out sometime, I have a few close to town lakes I would like to try. I have a good assortment of gear, but no shelter.
    I grew up in Maine, and back there it is a MAJOR winter time activity. There is some good fishing to be had up here in the winter! let me know if you need any help with anything, I live in chugiak, so I am just up the road from ER.

Default There are other forums...

... such as Iceshanty.com.