Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: idiots guide to riverboating, I need one.

Default idiots guide to riverboating, I need one.

My 60 horse jet motor arrives today. I will be putting it on my 16 foot welded gregor river boat.

I have Zero experience with running a jet, terminology of jet parts, things to watch for ect.

Where can I go for a how to guide or something along those lines so I can keep up with the info posted here?

Oh yeah, I need some help, as in physical and knowledgable, with putting this sucker on the boat PLEASE!

Default jet,s

Try Boating sportsman form. used to be called River Jet, Good info there. Go look at a bunch of other boats, see where the straight edge line,s the jet with the bottem of boat, transom bracket, where they ran there shift linkage lines so forth,

PRACTICE MAKES PERFECT...... HAVE HAD MINE 5-6 YEARS STILL LEARNING. MINE IS LITTLE INBOARD SO I'M NO HELP ON SET-UP.
    I HAVE A VARIETY OF WAYS TO GET ME UNSTUCK ON BOARD WHEN I HAVE A OOPS.
    SPEED IS YOUR FRIEND....TO A POINT BUT IF YOU BACK OFF AND COME OFF STEP, NATERAL THING TO DO, YOU MIGHT BE IN TROUBLE BUT YOU CAN ALSO PUT IT FURTHER UP ON THE GRAVEL IF YOU REALLY MISCALCULATE. IF YOU CAN LOCATE CLEAR WATER STREAM TO RUN THEN YOU CAN GET AN IDEA OF READING RIVER BETTER.

GOOD LUCK AND ENJOY YOUR NEW TOY
    -PAT
    RETIRED U.S.A.F. CAPT.; LIFETIME MEMBER NRA; LIFETIME MEMBER ALASKA BOWHUNTER ASSOC.
    MASTER BOWHUNTER EDUCATION INSTRUCTOR; MEMBER UNITED BLOOD TRACKERS; POPE & YOUNG MEASURER

Don't ask me I'm an airboater ,We don't need water Glad you got your engine better hurry before the river is froze up.
    PEOPLE SAY I HAVE A.D.D I DON'T UNDERSTA.....OH LOOK A MOOSE !!!