Thread: Subjective advice needed

Default Subjective advice needed

I have been reading these posts and have gathered some good info on makers, brands, calibers etc. And now I'm very interested in a traditional long rifle. I have no experience which is making this even more fun (in my mind anyway). So I figure I'll buy a kit assemble it this winter shoot it over the spring and summer then hopefully be ready to try it out during hunting season. That's the goal anyway.

I'm leaning towards a Pennsylvania long rifle, a far second would be a hawken.

Thoughts?

Quote Originally Posted by JamesMac View Post
    I have been reading these posts and have gathered some good info on makers, brands, calibers etc. And now I'm very interested in a traditional long rifle. I have no experience which is making this even more fun (in my mind anyway). So I figure I'll buy a kit assemble it this winter shoot it over the spring and summer then hopefully be ready to try it out during hunting season. That's the goal anyway.

I'm leaning towards a Pennsylvania long rifle, a far second would be a hawken.

Thoughts?
    Cheapest way to go is a Traditions brand kit, whether a Pennsylvania or Hawken style. A much better kit though more expensive would be the same from Pedersoli. In between, but only available in plains or hawken style is the Lyman Great Planes Rifle. I've got both factory and kit models, and it's just plain dandy.

No time to dig now, but if I can sign back up in the next 24 hrs I'll pass along some links.

Quote Originally Posted by BrownBear View Post
    Cheapest way to go is a Traditions brand kit, whether a Pennsylvania or Hawken style. A much better kit though more expensive would be the same from Pedersoli. In between, but only available in plains or hawken style is the Lyman Great Planes Rifle. I've got both factory and kit models, and it's just plain dandy.

No time to dig now, but if I can sign back up in the next 24 hrs I'll pass along some links.