Thread: Duck Id thread idea?

Question Duck Id thread idea?

Ok, I freely admit I am new to duck hunting, I am used to the "easy" stuff when it comes to identification ie: grouse and ptarmigan. After much looking around on this forum, I have found few photos with species name to match, but for the most part its just a picture of a lot of ducks.

What I propose and think many would find HUGELY useful is to create a dedicated pair of threads - one for "Waterfowl Identification" and the other for "Identify this Duck for Me Please"

The idea for the Waterfowl Identification thread would be to keep it as clean and accurate as possible - not making it a discussion forum but a series of posts where each posts subject would be the species and gender and a pic(s) attached: Obviously it goes without saying to post only good pictures that are very helpful in identifying the various species of ducks (geese and other big birdies could have their own thread perhaps?) This would be the thread that would have no "what is it" or "might be's" on it. I think it would be very helpful to note table-fare and easy id characteristics... Perhaps the moderators would help in keeping this thread accurate and free of chit-chat -- maybe even make it a sticky...

Next - the "Identify this Duck for Me Please" would be an all out discussion thread for people (especially newbies) to post pics of their 'catch' or even a picture of a non-caught but interesting/unknown duck and ask for identification help. To keep it organized, each post with a picture should post as the first line in the message text a picture number (it should not be in the subject so we can edit our number if by accident we post the same number at the same time as another person.) These picture numbers would allow subsequent discussion to avoid confusion...