Thread: need info on a blacktail hunt??????

Eielson Air Force Base, Alaska, United States

Default need info on a blacktail hunt??????

I am trying to plan a blacktail hunt for next fall but am running into a problem finding a person to just drop us off and pick us up a couple of days later, or if there is a good place to go on the mainland to get into some. Would like to do a combo deer/griz hunt. I am a resident so i dont need a guide just someone to get us in and out. If you guys have any thought or insight into this subject i would love to hear it. Also is there any good deer hunting down around valdez, heard the bear hunting it second to none down there. Thanks for the help.

For deer and brown bear Kodiak Road system may be an option (depending on if native corp opens hunting up). I here the odds in getting pulled for a remote hunt on Kodiak are pretty good too. You may also want to look into Montegue Island.
    Valdez has great bear hunting but you will be hard pressed to find any deer.

Quote Originally Posted by mac87toy View Post
    I am trying to plan a blacktail hunt for next fall but am running into a problem finding a person to just drop us off and pick us up a couple of days later, or if there is a good place to go on the mainland to get into some. Would like to do a combo deer/griz hunt. I am a resident so i dont need a guide just someone to get us in and out. If you guys have any thought or insight into this subject i would love to hear it. Also is there any good deer hunting down around valdez, heard the bear hunting it second to none down there. Thanks for the help.
    Might help if you mentioned what are you are wanting to hunt first. I am sure you can find an outfitter easily.