Thread: NEED boot HELP,BIG time!

Default NEED boot HELP,BIG time!

My son's a surveyor(ALOT of walking and water)and has gone through 4 different pair of boots(3 diff brands and all with goretex)in the last year that have all leaked. Not torn up,just leak. Any suggestions besides rubber boots? Sure would APPRECIATE it!

til later

I was a surveyor in remote Alaska for 8 years. I quit 15 years ago and Goretex back they wasn't what it is now, but I had the exact same issues your son has. I still have the same issues with my hunting boots with Goretex now. Even with Nikwax coating my expensive Meindell boots with goretex were soaked through in two days on Kodiak. I have yet to find a leather boot that is truely long term waterproof.

Back in the day I had three pairs of boots/shoes. Knee high rubber boots that I wore 90% of the time, a pair of Danner leathers with Goretex for dryland work when it wasn't raining and a pair of cheap hightop basketball shoes. I wore the basketball shoes out in Western Alaska when working in swamps. They outlasted anything while being constantly soaked. Hip boots were never tall enough, chest waders were too hot, knee boots never worked either. I just wore polypro long johns, pants and socks that dried fast and a pair of basketball shoes. I just jumped right into the water and let everything drain out on the other side. I never got trench foot or anything like it because I dried my feet well every night in camp.