Thread: 300wsm load

Default 300wsm load

I am new to reloading,
    Into it about a year now. I did a search on 300wsm to see how everyone is loading them I am using Accubond 180gr with 69gr. Of win780 supreme powder, win case and wlrm primers
    Col is 2.890, out of a
    Sako 75, holding just at an inch @ 100yds. Has anyone else used this load? When adjusting
    The seating depth do you start at the sugested col and work down? Any help would be great! Thanks....

Quote Originally Posted by Gotmudd View Post
    I am new to reloading,
    Into it about a year now. I did a search on 300wsm to see how everyone is loading them I am using Accubond 180gr with 69gr. Of win780 supreme powder, win case and wlrm primers
    Col is 2.890, out of a
    Sako 75, holding just at an inch @ 100yds. Has anyone else used this load? When adjusting
    The seating depth do you start at the sugested col and work down? Any help would be great! Thanks....
    You're doing ok. I don't like your choice of powder but I guess the bullets leave the barrel.

First you must determine at what Cartridge Over All Length (COAL) will the 180 Accubond contact the rifling in your rifle. If you are just using a dial caliper to measure and have no other aid such as the Stoney Point system, you'll need to do this. Just start a bullet into a sized ( no primer no powder) case only about .030" into the case, then hand feed it into the chamber and close the bolt. This will push the bullet into the case as it contacts the lands. Now pull it out and measure it. If the bullet sticks when extracted, just knock out with a cleaning rod and seat it a little deeper. When this works seat a new bullet to that "chamber depth" in the unprimed case and chamber it again. IF the rifling marks this bullet seat a few thousandths deeper and try again.