Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Moose Calling Strategy - What's Yours?

Default Moose Calling Strategy - What's Yours?

I have been bowhunting for a several years and been fortunate to take a bull and cow moose, using some very light calling (FMA technique).

I have been watching videos and reading forums, but I am curious what strategy you employ when hunting in areas that are more natural that the FMA (Fairbanks Mangement Area).

I leave for a week long hunt next Friday with a friend and my 10 year old son. I am confused as to use bull grunts and thrashing or cow calls or both. Being that we are towrd the end of the month when I leave, what do you suggest? Perhaps someone could give some eampples of what they do. I use a Bull Magnet now that my scaplula got flat wore out

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

i wake up EVERY morning, starting aobut Aug 1st walk out on the deck and yell here moosie moosie...

somtimes it takes awhile.... but he wife got hers on the 4th....
    "If you are on a continuous search to be offended, you will always find what you are looking for; even when it isn't there."

meet on face book here

lolol.. NOT nice.. or exactly what I was looking for. Congrats to your wife

Default Moosie Moosie

I went outside and tried the "moosie, moosie" method. Didn't work for me, either. Sooooooooo, I went back to the usual cow moans, mixed with raking and branch breaking, along with some grunts. If I know there is a bull in the area, or see one, I go with grunts and branches only. No more cow moans unless he starts to leave and ignore the grunts. Usually works, but hasn't so far this season. I'm still working at it.

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

Quote Originally Posted by FairbanksBowHunter View Post
    lolol.. NOT nice.. or exactly what I was looking for. Congrats to your wife