Thread: Halibut Vs. Turbot

Default Halibut Vs. Turbot

Can someone please post pix of a halibut and turbot side by side. I am new to this and I would like to see the difference. Here in the southeast, everyone tosses turbot as trash. They are known as "left-handed halibut. I'm told the eyes are located differently than on Halibut.

I've read older posts on this forum that describe the arrowtooth flounder, turbot and halibut, but would sure like to see pix.

Thanks

Default Hmmm,

never heard of such a thing. Is it like a Mud Whomp or a Side Hill Gouger?

Quote Originally Posted by BigJake View Post
    Can someone please post pix of a halibut and turbot side by side. I am new to this and I would like to see the difference. Here in the southeast, everyone tosses turbot as trash. They are known as "left-handed halibut. I'm told the eyes are located differently than on Halibut.

I've read older posts on this forum that describe the arrowtooth flounder, turbot and halibut, but would sure like to see pix.

Thanks
    Greenland Turbot, also called Greenland Halibut...I'm pretty sure they are a "right-eyed" flatfish like halibut...they are apparently good to eat, as there is a commercial fishery for them and they get a good price. A key difference is that the bottom side of the turbot is greyish, not a glossy white like a halibut, distinctly different. Turbot also have a couple of vampire teeth on the roof of their mouths, behind the regular set of teeth. They are actually much more diffiult to tell apart from an arrowtooth than from a halibut. If AKBrownsfan chimes in on this, you'll get even more detail.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/crappyw...hy/2790851548/
    http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/fishwatch/s...een_turbot.htm
    "The Gods do not subtract from the allotted span of men's lives the hours spent in fishing" Assyrian Tablet 2000 B.C.

Turbot is soft and mushy. YUKKKK!!!

Haven't seen on in a while. Teeth rivaling a ling.