Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to the hunting scene

Default New to the hunting scene

Ok so I am new to hunting. I really want to get into hunting but I do not know where to begin. I am looking to buy a .325 WSM for next season. I have never been hunting so I am really lost when it comes to places to go to and the whole nine. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Where do you live, adrien? Some folks here might be willing to help you out in some regard depending on where you're at.

One of the first things you should consider is taking one of the Hunter Education courses offered by ADF&G (Alaska Department of Fish and Game). Not only will it help you with a lot of the basics, but it will also allow you to legally hunt in some areas that are restricted to those who have taken such a course. I also recommend that you get a few books and leaf through them over the winter. Type "hunting book" into the search engine here and you'll find some old threads with many good suggestions. Most of those books can be found at the store here on this website.

Well for starters I live in Anchorage. I will do a search and see what I come up with. Thanks

Well, I'd be happy to sit down with you over a cup of coffee (or a pint of beer, depending on your tastes) to talk hunting - seasons, regulations, areas, drawing permits, etc. I've got a newborn in the house and some hunting of my own to do, so my schedule is a little tight these days, but if you're interested let me know and we'll figure something out.

On a side note, spend lots and lots of time reading here. There is literally a treasure trove of info that has been shared here over the years.

Sweet. Just pm me your contact info and we can talk. Drinks and food on me

Default Alaska Hunting 101

Brian, are you trying to get a free meal again? hehehe

Quote Originally Posted by kahahawai View Post
    Brian, are you trying to get a free meal again? hehehe
    I'm a teacher. I'll take whatever I can get.