Thread: Buying a used snow machine

Default Buying a used snow machine

I am looking for a used snow machine for hunting and ice fishing. I have little to no experience with these and would appreciate advice of what to look for and any models to stay away from. Also I would like to be able to pull a sled. Thanks for any help..

Meadow Lakes, Wasilla

Default Need some more info...

Do you need electric start, or are you big enough to pull it (even if you flood it?)
    Do you want reverse?
    How much do you expect to spend?
    Can you work on it yourself?
    My first thought is something like an Arctic Cat Lynx long track, 300 cc with electric start. Will run you about $1500 on Craigslist. Top speed of about 40mph, but will pull ok, won't get stuck much, small enough to lift when stuck or to load. Also cheap enough to sell when you are ready to move up to a bigger sled.

Wasilla, Alaska, United States

A couple more questions....

How old are you?

How much do you weigh?

How much do you want to spend?

The porcupine is a peacful animal yet God still thought it necessary to give him quills....

Default More info

I weigh about 180 and as far as starting goes I just want something dependable. I am 41 and I don't expect to want to use this for tearing up the slopes so it doesn't need to be fast. I just want dependable, light weight so I will not getting stuck all of the time and can pull a sled.

Meadow Lakes, Wasilla

Default OK, here's a couple of great options...

1.) Polaris Indy Light LT has long track, pretty fast, good on gas, and reasonably priced.
    2.) Yamaha Bravo LT only 250cc, so not fast (30mph) but great on gas and very reliable. Parts are easy to find and cheap.
    3.) Skidoo Tundra LT is 250cc also, but are in pretty high demand (for good reason.) They cost top dollar for what you get, but are good pullers.