Thread: New stock for win mod 70

Default New stock for win mod 70

I have be thinking about getting a new stock for my win model in a 300 win mag. My old wood stock is starting to run on the barrel. Does anyone have experence with h-s percision stocks? Does anyone have and other brands that I should check out. I don't want to spend more then 300 to 400 for it. Thanks in advance

McMillians are great.

I have an H-S on my rifle 30-06 mod 70. It is a great stock too.
    "You have given out too much reputation in the last 24 hours, try again later".

How was the H-s stock to install? They say it is easy. How hard was it to install the fiberglass part? I have never done this before so any insight would be great.

The H-S Precision stocks are a simple drop-in. Unless you get a defect from the factory. If it was mine, I'd bed the action and float the barrel.

Default Stocks

I have two Winchecter MD 70's in 338 WM and they both have B&C composite stocks on them. One has been on the rifle for over 30 years and is still doing just fine. They are not the lightest stocks but they do help lessen the recoil.

Quote Originally Posted by swapdonkey View Post
    How was the H-s stock to install? They say it is easy. How hard was it to install the fiberglass part? I have never done this before so any insight would be great.

If you have never done any finish work on a fiberglass stock before, or have
    no knowledge of bedding a stock, I would save some more money and let whoever stock do all the work.Messing up a 300.00 stock is not my idea of a good idea. Remember your looking at 6 months for any fiberglass stock from McMillan or some of the others. Best bet is to send the barreled action in, wait the 6 months and pay 600.00 to 650.00. Let the maker handle all the little things you may not have the tooling for. Pad installation and pad fitting for length of pull, installing swivels studs, bedding all require more than just a few special tools and knowledge.