Thread: Velvet racks

Default Velvet racks

Hi guys:

Friday I bagged a real nice caribou. Looks like about 320 B&C or so, I am no expert but it is nice enough that I want to save it. I have only saved 3-4 out of the dozen or so bulls that I have shot over the years and I have never taken a bull in velvet.

My question is how do I do a crown mount with the velvet? It is sliding off and I don’t think it will stay. If I peal it can I dry and stain it so it will look nice and brown and how?

Northwest Alaska Back Country Rentals

Liverpool, NY (a suburb of Syracuse)

Default Taxidermist

Always my answer - that's why they are professionals.

A taxidermist can either stain your rack after it has been peeled or put an artificial velvet on it. I personally have no experience with artificial velvet. Look at what the taxidermist has as an example of what he/she can do.

I think my taxidermist (not in Alaska) is very reasonable in price.

Default freeze dry

I have done three racks in velvet by freeze drying them. First thing I did was drain all the blood out of them. I then tossed them whole into the Alaska Airlines freezer (connections are great) until winter time, then I took them out and let them sit outside all winter. So far I'm three for three.

I took a pretty cool non-typical, drop-tine caribou several years ago that I wanted to do a euro mount in velvet. I freeze dried the velvet, then wrapped it up real well and boiled the skull. I didn't want to cook the velvet, so I didn't boil long enough to get everything out. I've had the skull/antlers in a shed (dang near forgot about it) for a few years now. I eventually want to finish that one up and make a mount out of it. The bugs wouldn't work for this as they said the bugs would find a way to get to and eat the velvet.

Default Pics

Walt, got pics you can share to get our blood pumping?

Fairbanks, Alaska, United States