Thread: Looking for Professional AR15 Cleaning

Default Looking for Professional AR15 Cleaning

I have a Bushmaster AR15 that has over umpteen million gajillion rounds (little exaggeration lol) through it. I clean after every firing session but lead and copper fouling has built up quite a bit. I just dont have the tools to completely remove this stuff. Anybody have any recommendations on who does professional cleaning? I am looking for copper/lead fouling removal much like the Foul Out III system.

I don't let my get "that" bad, but here's some ideas to get you started.

I don't think the Foul Out system will be of use to you. In order to fill the barrel with liquid you'll need to take off the gas tube and plug the gas port.

Get some stuff and spend some time cleaning your rifle. Most of this stuff can be had from Midway USA and I'm sure Sportsman's will have most of it.

Here's how I clean my ARs:

Get a rifle holder to hold the rifle so you can work on it. A notch in the front for the hand guard and a clamp in the rear to hold the butt stock. I use a gizmo from Creedmore to hold the upper and lower in a static position. It's an offset part with a hole in one end and a pin in the other to line up with the take down pin/hole.

Get a chamber guide. Mine's made of some type of plastic and is a round tube with a hole in the middle to line up the rod with the rifle bore. This keeps you from damaging the chamber and puts the rod right down the center. Allows you to get a patch on the rod outside the rifle.