Thread: MY SKS took a swim! HELP!!!!!!!

Question MY SKS took a swim! HELP!!!!!!!

alright, someone in our party was kinda scared and wanted a gun to take to there tent or the night, well I was kind enought to lend them my trusty SKS which I absolutly LOVE! Well the tide came in and my beloved SKS took a saltwater bath! I NEED to bring it to the best guy in the business of getting this thing fixed! Who is the man? Any phone numbers? I need to get this thing ASAP, I know shops will probly be closed til tuesday, is that to long? It went swimming last night, I really would appreciate it if someone could shoot me in the right direction to the best gunsmith around. I live in wasilla, but I will travel to Anch for the right guy for the job! It is not destroyed is it?

Well, how does it look?

I am by no means an expert, but this is what I would do.

The first thing I would do is completely strip it and rinse everything with fresh water to get the saltwater off it. If there is anything that looks like it needs to be addressed then scrub it with gun cleaner. Then give the gun some love. Oil it inside and out, run a few oiled patches through the bore, the piston bores, get inside the gas block.

Once again I am no expert, but that's what I'd do. I can't think of what could possibly be ruined on an sks that got some salt water on it. Even if you have to scour the metal you can touch up the blue yourself.

My 2 cents.

Powderhound: If you can take the wood parts off and then boil all the metal parts in fresh water, that will stop any rusting action. Then clean it and oil it. I would oil with Kroil because of its penitrating action. I have never dealt with salt water induced rust but am sure that speed in getting it clean is important.

The first time I did this for a guy, I went to the feed store and got a chicken feeder (metal tank) and used a camp stove. Good luck. J.