Thread: Unit 20 B Info

Default Unit 20 B Info

I was drawn for a moose tag this season and the hunt is limited to the southwest portion of 20 B just west of Fairbanks. I can shoot any cow that is not accompanied by a calf. My question to the forum is can I still shoot a 50"+ Bull? I called adf&g in Fairbanks and talked to a woman that did not seem to sure of herself. She used words like "I think so" and "well I don't see why not". I seemed odd that she did not know this basic information and that she couldn't find some one who would know. The regs are not very clear on this matter and if anyone knows I sure would appreciate it. Also I should mention that this is my second moose hunt any I am a novice to hunting in alaska. Last year I got skunked but this year seems fairly promising for I can shoot any cow. Does anyone have some advice for me on the best way to hunt this area and what should I be looking for?

Default nope

You can not shoot anything but a cow in 20B,

Default I had the same question...

Yesterday I went to the ADFG office and asked them if I could hunt the bull registration hunt for the first 15 days. Their answer was yes, and they issued me a tag. I fully explained that I hold the DM779 tag and that I would like to cary the bull tag for the "just in case" a big bull steps in my view. Again, the gentelman said yes that was fine.

By the way, I just read the regs and I don't think there is a 50" restriction on the bulls in 20B.
    When all else fails...ask your old-man.

AKArcher

Question Are you sure?

Quote Originally Posted by akhunter02 View Post
    You can not shoot anything but a cow in 20B,
    I showed the man at the counter my DM779 permit and he said it was fine, and then he filled out my registration permit for 20B.

Here is something to think about... If he is wrong...what are the chances I am left hanging out to dry?

AKArcher

Default wow