Thread: Savage "Acutrigger"

Default Savage "Acutrigger"

What's the deal with Savage's "Acutrigger"? My wife put a limit on my spending for a deer rifle, so I'm pretty much limited to a Savage 30-06 or a Marlin 30-30.

I could go either way, but the Savage has the Acutrigger??? With that think vertical piece of metal on the trigger, it looks like it could be uncomfortable.

Any experience with this?

Plus, those who think I should go with the 30-30, let me know, and why! The rifle will be used on a fall deer hunt in SE, and I won't be shooting it much after that--maybe an occasional deer hunt. The 30-30, however, seems like an "all around" rifle. With either rifle, I would put a scope on it.

Thanks!

Hey! If I look thru this empty beer bottle, I think I can see Russia from here!!!

Well, I have no experience with Savage “Accu-trigger” but I do have plenty of experience with the 30-06 and 30/30 chambering. I love my 30/30’s and have several, but in my opinion their best when a guy is looking for a short, light, quick handling gun for relatively close range shooting. For example sitting in a tree stand were shots within 50 to 100 yards would be the norm, or for a “truck gun” that sits behind the seat or rides around on the front of your ATV. It’s a great cartridge and is far more versatile than many would lead you to believe, and as you have stated, can be had in relatively inexpensive rifles. That said, I think you would find the 30-06 to be even more versatile, especially here in Alaska were the critters often exceed what conventional wisdom considers to be the “maximum” animal size for the 30/30.

If price is really your main consideration, and you don’t care for the Savage trigger, just keep any eye on this forum for a good used 30-06 by Remington, Winchester or Ruger. I would guess you could find a nice one for about the same price as a new Savage.