Thread: Starting point...

Default Starting point...

I am new to reloading and have recently come into a BUNCH of reloading equipment (I now have three presses and 6-8 sets of dies, bullets, lots of powder, primers, etc..). I am wanting to come up with a light load to shoot from my S&W 629 (3" bbl) that isn't too punishing. Can anyone give me a starting point for some easy loads for target practice that I can play with?

Thanks in advance,

Rob
    AKmud
    http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j96/AKmud/213700RMK1-1.jpg

The porcupine is a peacful animal yet God still thought it necessary to give him quills....

I like a 240-250 gr bullet over 7 gr of Unique, should be around 600 fps and change from your short barrel. Recoil is very mild, and accuracy is typically quite good. You can also increase charges to 10 gr for 900 fps and change, recoil rises but some guns group much tighter with the increased load.

Unique has had a reputation for being a dirty powder, but I believe the new formulation is much cleaner burning. I've used pounds of it, and it is one of the most flexible powders for mild cast bullet shooting in pistols and rifles.

I agree with Paul about Unique. It's my favorite for moderate loads in most handguns.

On the 240 grain bullets, beware of the Speer or Hornady swaged lead bullets if you move much above that 7 grain charge. They're leading fools in spite of the lube, mostly because they are swaged from such soft lead.

Even with the mild charge they are prone to leading if you scrape the lube off the sides of the bullet while seating them in the cases. At the cost of case life, it helps to bell the case mouth a little more than usual.

Better yet is to forego those bullets completely. I cast my own from wheelweights or #2 Lyman alloy and they are fine up through the 10 grain charge Paul mentions. No extra belling on the case mouths or anything- just load and shoot.