Thread: Rifle Finish Opinions Wanted

Default Rifle Finish Opinions Wanted

Hey all,
    I just came back from a week long hunt and alot of it was in the rain. My blued Tikka T3 was well taken care of (before and during the hunt) but it ended up with little spots of rust on the reciever and barrel.

If you have comments on how to prevent this lemme know. I'm still learning and feel free to school me up.

Now for the real question.

After cleaning it up there is no pitting. The receiver cleaned up just fine with no blue issues. The barrell required a good bit more scrubbing and it took out some of the blue on the barrel. I just went ahead and took the blue off for the forward half of the barrel. The metal is in perfect condition but now I have to deal with the finish.

I don't want this thing to be so easily rusted. And since I have to redo the finish it might be a good time to put another type of finish on the whole rifle. I can reblue it at home but it's obviously not going to be as good as a professional. Is there someone in anchorage who does a more weatherproof finish that won't cost more than 150ish bucks that will seal this rifle up better.

I'm happy with cerakote and parkerizing. My co-pilot has been parkerized and after 10 years still dont have a rust problem, although its time to refinish it.

Cerakote is pretty strong and durable. My 9.3x62 has this. It hasnt been put to the test my marlin has but so far I am impressed.

Default Teflon

I have all of my guns done. Contact Lee at www.blackicecoatings.com. I had my Rem788 done and it is amazing. I had my slug gun done and will be sending my Weatherby Stainless Accumark to him shortly. You never have to worry about them again. Check out his web site. He does an excellent job and his prices are very reasonable. I'm in Palmer if you would like to see his work. Tell him Andy sent ya...

Cera-Kote is the best thing going and is very very tough.
    A GUN WRITER NEEDS:
    THE MIND OF A SCHOLAR