Thread: Thumbs Up to Fairbanks ADF&G Bow Cert Class

Thumbs up Thumbs Up to Fairbanks ADF&G Bow Cert Class

I have to admit, I am fairly new to serious bowhunting. I have bowhunted in Wisconsin as a teenager but never harvested an animal with a bow. I had been practicing with my bow all summer long and finally decided to get the IBEF certification so I could head up the Haul Road.

I had heard stories about the proficiency shoot from several different people and all were different. Some said they did it indoor and shot only two arrows. Some said they did it outdoor and shot three arrows. Going into the class, all I knew was I was supposed to bring my bow and three field tipped arrows.

When I finished the classroom portion and they gave us instructions for returning to shoot in the afternoon I got really worried. I was told it would be eight arrows from four stations and one arrow from each station had to be from the kneeling position. Additionally, one of the stations was from an elevated platform. I was required to put one arrow in the vitals on each target and one target had to have two in the vitals. Now, I had been practicing and felt good about my accuracy but I hadn't practiced from the knees or an elevated stand. My only saving grace was that I would be allowed to use my range finder (I am horrible at range estimation).

When I showed up for the shoot and we were split into groups I noticed a lot of people started to lag behind as we approached the first station. They all must have been as nervous as I was. It's one thing to miss a shot in my back yard but another to miss it in front of half a dozen other archers and the instructor that will pass or fail you.

I ended up being first to go. I ranged the target at 20 yards. I put both arrows, one standing and one kneeling, in the vitals. After that it was all down hill on the next three stations.