Thread: Most difficult fly tying step

Default Most difficult fly tying step

I was trying my luck at tying up some ESL and have found the "final whip" technique to be most difficult. I watched videos (youtube) on doing it by hand, and with a tool, but both look daunting. I am a total noob in this so any suggestions or resources to learn this knot? Of course I could always tie a ghetto knot and glue it...muhahahahaha.. or probobly need to join a fly tying club here in the fairbanks area.

If you have ever tied up egg loops, it is much the same. It basically makes kind of a half hitch over and over. I have mainly used a tool, but by hand isn't all that hard either. Your best bet is to have someone show you in person. If that isn't a possibility, go ghetto!
    AKmud
    http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j96/AKmud/213700RMK1-1.jpg

The porcupine is a peacful animal yet God still thought it necessary to give him quills....

Default Try here

http://www.alaskaflyfish.net/matarel...finishvid.html Keep trying you will get it.....DB

Default Be at the Shop

Dude! You know we offered 12 weeks in a row in Fairbanks this winter every Sat for free. Fly tying lessons notice the word Free to inlcude the materials. Dude!

That being said I will be at the Shop Friday Night 5:00 - 7:00 PM Sat 10:00AM till 12:30PM

Stop in I will show you two fail safe methods to make this easy for you! FREE! I do not sell fly tying material or anything related! No Sales Pitch just a quick lesson.

Dude!

I know I am ragging on you sorry! Please feel free to stop in either Friday night or Sat morn. Aftet that I am on the river for three days.

Richard "Moose' Mousseau
    www.bluemooserafintg.com

Default Sounds good

Quote Originally Posted by BlueMoose View Post
    Dude! You know we offered 12 weeks in a row in Fairbanks this winter every Sat for free. Fly tying lessons notice the word Free to inlcude the materials. Dude!