Thread: Primer, Powder Question

Default Primer, Powder Question

Got the reloader(thanks wife), got the bench built(stainning this weekend), will be assymbling loader and starting the factory this week. I have purchased SP, SPM, LP, and LPM CCI primers but am having a problem locating loads with them in the manuals. When the manual says WLP (Winchester Large Pistol) can I substitute the CCI? Next is I have also purchased some Trail Boss (Cowboy Shooting) but am having a tough time finding load data for it. I currently have a 38/357 and 44sp/44mag. Finally does anyone know of a Laser-Cast dealer close to Valdez (other then the Petersburg Gun Club in south east alaska)?

First things first, congrats on the press and bench. I just got my press a few weeks ago and built my bench today, only have some locking cabinets left to build on it. Personally I'm leaving it unstained, but then I'm using it for more then reloading.

I'm new to reloading as well, and reading my reloading manual, Speer #14, It looks like you should be able to substitute other primers if you use the starter load and then work up from that.

The Speer #14 manual also has CAS reloading data for Trail Boss powder.
    Chris Willhoite

Quote Originally Posted by alaskabear99687 View Post
    Got the reloader(thanks wife), got the bench built(stainning this weekend), will be assymbling loader and starting the factory this week. I have purchased SP, SPM, LP, and LPM CCI primers but am having a problem locating loads with them in the manuals. When the manual says WLP (Winchester Large Pistol) can I substitute the CCI? Next is I have also purchased some Trail Boss (Cowboy Shooting) but am having a tough time finding load data for it. I currently have a 38/357 and 44sp/44mag. Finally does anyone know of a Laser-Cast dealer close to Valdez (other then the Petersburg Gun Club in south east alaska)?