Thread: Few ?? on Seward Silver Salmon fishing from the beach

Default Few ?? on Seward Silver Salmon fishing from the beach

I'm going to Eagle River for a week and for the most part have nothing much to do.
    I asked one of my aunts if there is any fishing to be done anywhere that is easily accessible by car and she said there will be a silver run at Seward. If her husband is up to it, they will take my sons and I there for a day to get a few fish for them.
    Since I have no experience in fishing anywhere else other than my home town and in the Nome area (it's been a while though), what's it like in Seward? Is it one of those shoulder to shoulder type of fishing that I occasionally see in the news and magazines?
    Do my 2 boys, aged 9 and 7, need a fishing license/tags in order to fish?

Thanks

Your best bet is to book a charter to get your silvers in Seward. It is hit or miss from the beaches. A good charter boat will get you a limit in no time.

Kids under 16 do not need a license. The fish (silvers) ar not in the harbor or at the beaches yet. Miller's Landing has some 1/2 day charters that produce fish. if the silvers are not hitting you can take home bass and possible ling cod or yellow eye

I saw a post where someone hiked up past Caines head in seward and got chums and pinks till his arms fell off.
    I heard that ressurection creek off Nash road is doing ok.

I would go North if you were in eagle river and fish the : little su, Sheep creek, Jim's creek, Eklutna tailrace, Montana creek.......list goes on.

Did you WANT to fish seward or is that what you were told as the closest place?

Lot's of better places right now.

Quote Originally Posted by Akbrownsfan View Post
    I saw a post where someone hiked up past Caines head in seward and got chums and pinks till his arms fell off.

I would go North if you were in eagle river and fish the : little su, Sheep creek, Jim's creek, Eklutna tailrace, Montana creek.......list goes on.