Thread: Bull magnet?

Default Bull magnet?

Hi All, considering getting a Bull Magnet mainly for raking because I keep wearing out scapulas. Any of you like/dislike them, reasons-examples please. Does anyone know of something better? Any ideas appreciated.
    Thanks,

KK

Thumbs up I liked it!

I am not an expert, but the first time I used it I called in a nice 57" bull. I was happy with the sounds it produced and it seemed very durable. The only negative I saw was that I couldn't find a good secure easy way to carry it. I ran a strap through it and attached it to my pack which worked well, but I had to undo the strap each time I stopped to call. Overall it was just a minor inconvenience.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Default Love' em

I recommend the guide model which is slightly smaller in size. (20% smaller)

I use a 3-4 foot piece of 550 cord. Just run it through and tie it together. You can wear it around your neck, sling it around your shoulders or string it around your pack. Just let the cord hang while you use it... No fuss...

The reason I love them is the same things they quote on their web site...
    http://www.alaskaremote.com/bull_magnet.htm

Amplifies a great nasal sound.
    If you hold it to your ear (small side) it amplifies the slightest of sounds.
    It has a great color to flash in sun as you scrape, thrash and BONK!!!

I have called in 7 moose with mine in three seasons. All were called to within bow range. 6 of the 7 were not legal. The 7th died at 35 yards, but my buddy did it with a .300 Wthby. In my experience they work. I use mine for raking, bull grunts and various cow calls. I know plenty of guys that do just as well using the mouths, hands and a scapula for raking.

I made my own with a fiberglass boat repair kit and a highway cone. Sprayed the cone with Pam for a release agent and laid the fiberglass on the cone. Works like a charm and has the same characteristic as the bull magnet for about $20.

Kid,