Thread: baitcaster backlash

Default baitcaster backlash

I am new to using a baitcaster and seem to be getting allot of backlash. I am using maxima 25# ultragreen. Does this line tend to backlash more then others or is it just me being new to a baitcasting setup? thanks

tighten your spool, use more weight, use lighter line, keep your thumb on the spool when casting line. These are a few of things I can think of to help, I am sure more will chime in...

Default My advice

I recently(last year) started using bait casters and now I don't even want to pick up a spinning rod anymore. Here's the the key with a BC....keep your thumb on that spool during the entire cast. During the cast, you should feel the line just under your thumb, ever so lightly, spinning off the spool. The second that lure hits the water, you MUST push that thumb down and STOP the spool from spinning. Biggest cause of backlash is not stopping that spool spin at the right moment (when lure hits water)...its always ok to stop it before it hits (cast will be shortened) but never after as the spool will continue to spin until you either stop it or the line turns your reel into a bird's nest!! Finally, your line 25# test might be too heavy for your rod/reel set-up, not sure what reel and rod you have. You'll have fewer issues with smaller diameter line, as long as you have good thumb technique..... it's all about the thumb with BCs.

Hope that helps

Default maxima......

Sucks............has huge memory issues - haven't tried it in my baitcasters - and I won't be any time soon either.

Default set the tension

Until I get use to a certain lure I set my tension on the drum just so the lure will not fall on it's own when the release is clicked. After a few casts and I get use to casting I will loosen it up a tad. Don't go too far or you'll be at square one again
    Visions Steel/841-WELD(9353)
    "Rebellion is in my blood, I was born an American"
    Μολών λαβέ