Thread: How To Anchor In Remote Beach Location

Default How To Anchor In Remote Beach Location

Hey Guys,
    I've got a lot of boating experience but am a newbee to the salt here and the big tides. What is the best method to go ashore and keep you're boat safe at remote beach locations without having to keep someone on the boat or have a zodiac to ferry back and forth? I've heard something about a system that allows you to anchor offshore but still be able to beach the boat and have a line to it when it's time to go. Anyone familiar with this and how it works?
    Emo

Default Simple

I've used this with succes for my 23' river boat. Cheap and easy to build. Set it up in the daylight the first time though...

http://www.neilmoomey.com/howtos/anchor_buoy/

Quote Originally Posted by emo View Post
    Hey Guys,
    I've got a lot of boating experience but am a newbee to the salt here and the big tides. What is the best method to go ashore and keep you're boat safe at remote beach locations without having to keep someone on the boat or have a zodiac to ferry back and forth? I've heard something about a system that allows you to anchor offshore but still be able to beach the boat and have a line to it when it's time to go. Anyone familiar with this and how it works?
    Emo
    Check this out.

http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...ight=anchoring

07 Ocean Pro 220 ET HT
    115 Yamaha
    Garmin 740S, GMR 18 HD
    Airmar TM 260-MM

In protected waters I use what I've heard called an aleut anchor. I have 100' of line and a 10# mushroom anchor. Tie the line to the bow of the boat, figure depth of anchor, tie anchor at that point. After you get everyone on shore, put the mushroom anchor on deck, hold the end of the line, push the boat into deeper water then give the line a tug to pull the anchor off the deck and drop it. Tie the line to shore.

Areas with big tides and shores that are quite shallow will need a longer rope.