Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: alright, now I got a speed issue.

Default alright, now I got a speed issue.

According to GPS, my boat does 10.3 MPH with 3 guys, all the gear for camping ect. THats with the 35 horse wide open. Now we ran my 6 horse kicker wide open, same exact payload and it pushes the boat at 5 MPH.

What is going on with that? Youd think that 30 extra horse power would get you going better than an extra 5 mph.

I took the boat out with just me and a little gear and it was alot sportier ( I forgot the GPS) but I bet I was going 20.

Do I maybe got the wrong prop on?

The engine ran great, just didnt seem to want to push the boat.

Default what boat?

You didn't mention the boat... What make, model and size?

I'm no expert but sounds like too little motor with too much boat... The problem is amplified w/ the extra weight...

Boat is a 16 Ft Aluminum. Made by Gregor. Its a Modified V-Hull, with a pretty flat bottom.

Yeah I think the Motor is a little small, but, What is confusing is that the 6 horse can push it to 5 MPH but the 35 can barely get it to go 5 MPH faster. I mean were talking 6 times the motor.

I doubt the boat is getting on step w/3guys and gear. Even though you have 6x hp over the 6hp kicker. It takes alot more power w/ more weight to get up on step.
    When you tested it by yourself did it sound like the motor was achieving full rpm? If it continued to slowly accelerate you could be overproped.
    If it hit 20 and plateaued out it may need some help in the form of a tune up. Have you checked the compresion on the motor. The cylinders should be within 10% and probably not much less than 90 PSI.
    Hope this helps and you get it squared away.
    I had a 16 foot jon w a 35 hp and it would hit 22mph w/3 people, but that was a really light hull, your boats looks considerably heavier, did you get the wet foam or figure out the weight problem?