Thread: Knives

Default Knives

What have you Alaska residents found to be good all around knives for hunting use, I had 3 with me on this last black bear hunt and all but one that was coated by Ionbond rusted. I will admit I neglected them, I got caught up in the hunt and my buddies etc and forgot about them in my pack.

Doug

Default benchmade knives

the best knife that i have found is the knife my stepfather uses and its a benchmade knfe with a straight blade not the stupid serated ( i cant spell) blade... he has used the same knife for 5 or so years now and has toughed out at least 6 bears, 5 moose, 2 caribou and who knows how many rabbits and fox's and sort.

Default Knives

When I lived there, I used 2 knives, a Schrade folder and a Buck 110 folding hunter. The buck was a little harder to sharpen but both worked well. Now I have spent the extra money and bought a Randall Model 25 with a stainless steel blade. I have been using this knife for 18 years and it works great. The draw back with a Randall is there is a 56 month wait to have one made, or if you can find one (e-Bay), they run $400-$500. Make sure you carry a sharpener with you to the mountains, you will need it, especially if bear hunting.

Default Knife For All Seasons

PUMA
    Game Warden

Default PUMA-Outdoor NO. 6378

I have used this since the 70's, its never let me down!

Default One more question-Knives

What would you want to see in a knife for the biggest critters and toughest conditions in North America?

I want to see tough, least amount of maintenance, coated and easy to sharpen and a 3 knife set, chopper, skinner and boning knife.

Default Denali Wilderness Lodge

Does anyone know the status of the Lodge? I understand its been sold. This would be Lynn Castle's old lodge on Wood River. It used to be an outstanding hunting lodge. My hunting partner used to work there and would love to go back. Thank you.

Gary D.

Default Cutco