Thread: Tips on Snares for Fox

Default Tips on Snares for Fox

Does anyone have any good tips on setting up snares for fox, and or any pictures of snares that you have set up in the field.

Default snaring

I'm not a pro, having snared less than a dozen. I've caught quite a few with traps but am also trying to change to snares more.

First, you obviously need to put the snare where the fox will likely walk. I won't go into that part unless you have questions about it.

I make the snares about 8-nine inches in diameter and the bottom about 9-10 inches above the ground, unless it is a hard trail, then about 8 inches above.

Try to do as little as possible to disturb the area, I usually have one or two very small twigs that I stick into the snow to hold the snare where I want it to be.

Some of the pros use wire.

If you search on the web, you will definetely find some good advice.

Default snaring

I snare and steel trap my fox. I don't have willows where I am so I tend to foot trap more than snare now. However snares are a better way to go I think. Alot less work in the snow than a foot trap.

I don't really measure my loops when I do it, I just eyeball them. But I do use wire to hang the snares and guiding sticks are a good idea. I will dig around and see if I have any photos of my snares hanging.

Default Snaring fox

You can often make your own trail to snare in. Drive a 4 wheeler or snogo thru some brush, and set snares in the track. Fox will also run rabbit trails. You can also set in your truck tire tracks if you have a field or small brush to drive thru.
    I like an 8 in. loop, 8 in. off the ground.
    You can also get the fox's curiosity up by leaving bait or lure in the area.
    For lots of online trapping info, check www.trapperman.com and the Alaska Trapping Forum.
    Here's a pic of one I got last year:
    I can't help being a lazy, dumb, weekend warrior.......I have a JOB!
    I have less friends now!!

Default MT has great advice