Thread: accuracy question

Default accuracy question

Thank you all for your help with my 7mag ammo prediciment. I went to the birchwood range and got my m77 dialed in at 200 yards with the recommended 160 grain nosler partition rounds. The groups were not perfect but I think they are good enough for a moose. What do you all think of 3.5" groups at 200. Keep in mind I am an very inexperienced amateur and was never really taught fundamentals. For you experienced guys out there, does your accuracy seem diminish after about 8 rounds? Mine does

Default accuracy

I have found that my accuracy starts slipping the more I shoot. Here lately, I have really been working on being more accurate after the 10-12 shots. It is amazing at how much more concentration it seems to take after several shots. Never seemed to make much difference if I was shooting a magnum or a small caliber...Eric

Your accuracy is capable of hitting a moose in the heart at 300 yards. You simply don't need more than that.
    Try wearing ear plugs inside of your ear muffs while at the range, it seems to help me a good deal.

Your rate of fire will also effect accuracy. If you are loading and firing without letting the barrel cool down, your groups will increase in size as the barrel heats up. Magnums tend to heat a barrel up fairly quickly. When shooting for groups, wait 1-3 minutes between shots, and wait 3-5 minutes (or longer if needed) between groups to let the barrel cool.

That's plenty good shooting!

One item I highly recomend for range shooting a high powered rifle is a PAST magnum recoil pad for your shoulder. It really takes the sting out of recoil and allows you to concentrate as you can ignore what is coming back at you. The other equally important thing is good hearing protection, I use both ear plugs and ear muffs. Muzzle blast can be just as much of a factor in recoil as the stock coming back.