Thread: Iron Pyrite vs Gold

Default Iron Pyrite vs Gold

I have a stream I like to fish that is just littered with what I am assuming is Iron Pyrite flakes... tiny, shiny, goldish. Is there a simple and/or fool-proof way to differentiate 'fools gold' from gold?

Thanks!

Talking A couple of tests

A couple of tests:

1. If it looks like gold in bright sunlight, it will look shinny and like gold out of direct sunlight. Iron pyrite will not shine unless under direct sunlight.

2. If you can put a knife blade on it and it bends, it is probably gold. Iron Pyrite will break.

3. A pin will stick in gold, Iron Pryite will break.

4. Some Iron Pyrite is magnetic.

5. From what I have seen, if I am into Iron Pyrite, the pieces are usually consistant in size.

6. If it is lumpy and roundish, or flat and odd shaped, send it to me as I making a collection of such shaped pieces.

Dave, thanks for the tips. I have panned alittle but I'm a novice from the get go. I probably threw away more gold than I found, cuz I dont know squat but its still fun.

Thanks! Those tests sound fairly idiot proof - I'll test that and let yo know!

Is this real gold? It passed all of your tests!!
    Thanks,
    Monica
    QUOTE=Daveinthebush;22335]A couple of tests:

1. If it looks like gold in bright sunlight, it will look shinny and like gold out of direct sunlight. Iron pyrite will not shine unless under direct sunlight.

2. If you can put a knife blade on it and it bends, it is probably gold. Iron Pyrite will break.

3. A pin will stick in gold, Iron Pryite will break.

4. Some Iron Pyrite is magnetic.

5. From what I have seen, if I am into Iron Pyrite, the pieces are usually consistant in size.

6. If it is lumpy and roundish, or flat and odd shaped, send it to me as I making a collection of such shaped pieces.[/QUOTE]