Thread: Big game hunt ideas needed, 8/29-9/1.

Default Big game hunt ideas needed, 8/29-9/1.

Ok I need some ideas, now that I know better than to ask for the easiest hunt . I have 4 days at the end of August/ beginning of Sept. in which I would like to go after big game of some sort.

I have a four wheeler, and a 10' inflatable/motor.

A walk in is feasible too.

I am a resident living in the Valley.

Any ideas? Thanks...... HH

Default Bears

While I'm not a resident and have only a little fall bear hunting experience I would think a bear hunt is probably your best bet.

If it were me, I would call the local biologist at AKF&G in an area and see what he/she had to say.

I can't hunt Unit 13 but I know there are lots of trails that can be used by ATVs, caribou is by permit, and moose doesn't start until Sept. 1. You might have a lot of space to yourself.

If you want to travel further, there are trails off the Steese highway. I recommended a float there a few years ago to a resident of Soldotna and after the hunt was over he sent me a nice picture of the brown bear he shot.

Thanks Phil, those are some great ideas.

That is a fabulous moose you have there.

What unit did it come from?

The bear idea is sounding more and more likely, as its early for moose in most areas. HH

Carribou on the North Slope. Plus Brown Bear is open after the 5 Mile hike. That is usually a good time of the year up there. Plus with the way the weather has been, bring warm clothes.

Good Luck

You could float one of the valley rivers for moose with your inflatable. Little Su from the highway to Burma landing as an example. Make a couple camps and hunt along the way.
    Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming-----WOW-----what a ride!
    Unknown author

Default To Harry Hyde & jkb