Thread: Hope Hospitality

Default Hope Hospitality

Yesterday I took my family to Hope to check out the Pink action. I've been saying I was going down there for 3 years now and am glad I did. All 6 of my kids had a blast slaying the bright Pinks that were coming in. I must admit that my wife and I had a large time also. The only bad thing was that I had some "lifelong Alaskan" tell me that my family was raping the resources by keeping our fish. I came up here with the Army and we changed our residence, because we absolutely love the Great Land, so we are Alaskan residents also and never plan on leaving. I even have a dip netting permit. I bet that would make her happy too. My family is also not fish snobs, so whatever we catch gets used for food throughout the year. Smoked, fried, grilled, baked, whatever. I even keep the fish bones to make Salmon chowder and smoke some of the bones for an extra treat for my family. Today my wife and I are canning all 23 Pink Salmon that my family caught for future use.

I have heard of people having conflicts at the fishing grounds before, but have never encountered someone like this before. I hope the drunk "lifelong Alaskan" lady at the mouth of Resurrection Creek is happy with herself for making us feel so welcome. I know that this is not the norm, but it is still disapointing to meet someone like this. I might add that I had a fews unchristian like things to say back to her, but that doesn't make it right.

I have family coming to visit our state from the lower 48 next week. I doubt that we will be visiting the nice little town of Hope for fear of running into this unfriendly represeantative of our great state.

I think we will go fight the crowds at the Keani River where everyone is a tourist and stranger. Thanks a lot Mrs "Lifelong resident"! Get bent!