Thread: .280Rem cartridges

Default .280Rem cartridges

Hi all
    I recently picked up a .280Rem in a 50Th anniversery Rem. 700LSS, 24" barrel. I'm just fed up with the 7mm RM as an all arounder, too noisy, too much kick in a light rifle. Just my opinion
    Anyway, as i am new to this cal., anyone have any favourite ammuntion and bullet weights that they could steer me to for sheep and moose?
    Cheers
    Paul

150gr 7mm Nosler Partition and the 280 Rem were made for each other.

I like the 140 Accubond with H4350; can get 3000 fps out of my 22" barrel and it is very accurate. Excellent all-round cal; good luck J.

Never shot a 280, but Nosler just came out with a 150 gr E-tip. you might give it a look.

Arrow 280s

I think you will be pleased with your new caliber of choice if it's anything like the ones I've played with it will probably be accurate with anything you want to shoot mine will shoot anything from 130 to 160 grain bullets in an inch at a 100 yards and close enough to the same point of impact I could take any hunting with the same scope setting.If you handload any of the good quality premium bullets in the 140 to 160 range with any of the 4350 or 4831 powders will do you well if I were going to pick on a moose I'd probably lean towards a 150 or 160 grain bullet. If you aren't a handloader federal offers 150 partitions or 160 grain accubonds norma loads a 156 grain oxyx pp and the 170 grain vulkan pp any of these will do what you want to do, my guns really shot the federals the best but normas ammo was a close second.It's really great caliber and is a pleasure to shoot and reload for...Lot's of luck with your new toy.....Ronnie

Thanks for the info gents. I spent a long time thinking about this caliber, and this rifle in particular, can't wait for sheep season.
    I don't handload, but a friend does, and he just happens to have all the dies etc for .280, so we'll have to shove some whiskey his way and see what happens.