Thread: Boat Performance Question

Default Boat Performance Question

What type of performance can I expect from a 20' Lund Alaskan and a 50 hp evinrude? Will it plane well? and do 25 mph or better? Thanks

Ron

Marginal at best. It's rated to 125 hp. Put a 115 on it and enjoy it.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

Default My guess

Is it will do 22 with 250lbs, 17 with 500lbs, ect.
    A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

www.arcticconcealment.com

I don't know how that hull compares to the 20' hewes we rented in Whittier a few years back, but with 3 people on board the 50 horse honda would push us 22 knots wot with a tail wind.

As a ball park number, a 115 at 2/3 throttle will burn about the same amount of fuel as a 50 run wot, and run you at the same speed. I'd be hardpressed to take a boat into the salt that had to run wot to hit 20-22 knots.

You also might want to consider the tohatsu 90 tldi if you plan to run with just a few people and light on the gear. I know a few folks using those engines and they are very fuel efficient on a 20' skiff.

The real question was to keep the 50 evinrude I have or ditch it for something else. It runs great. A new power plant will be a bit more to the bottom line. The big question does a lund plane at that speed? My smoker planes at 15 mph.

Ron

You could pick up a second 50 e-rude and be setup with twins. But you'd be suckig a fair bit more fuel then a modern 90-115.