Thread: 9.3 x 62 powder suitability

Default 9.3 x 62 powder suitability

As I sit waiting for my brass to arrive, I am wondering about the most suitable powder. Two of my manuals list h414 as top powder, one RL 15 with 2 not even mentioning RL15. Manuals are a little older. I like RL 15, have not used h414 but would prefer not to use a sperical powder. I would prefer a hogdon extreme powder if one is suitable.

So what do you more experienced folks use? for 286 nosler, 270 speer and maybe 250 accubond. I'm excited to get this thing in to action soon.

Cheers

I could only recommend one powder for you and thats Norma 202

Quote Originally Posted by svehunter View Post
    I could only recommend one powder for you and thats Norma 202
    a fella from Sweden-good answer.

I am new to this caliber and have taken 1 grizz with this 9,3x62 with RL15 and Nosler 286 Partition. This powder works well in my .338-06 and .30-30AI too. For that Mauser of mine I stocked up on 250 TSX, 286 Ornyx and 286 Partitions- presumably good bullets for what I shoot.

My 9,3 is in hand now and suspect it to be so for quite some time. By the way the reports I too have gained is that H414 is a good powder too but not like the Alliant RL15 but......all is debatable.

Learning to just favor this caliber! Complete penetration-not surprising though.

regards,

N135 worked very well for me but Varget is the most accurate powder in my 9.3x62 and works well with bullets from 232grains to 286s.

Default 9.3 Mauser

See my note in shooting section.

H414 is a good powder... velocity versus pressure. African Hunter had an article on H414 as THE powder for 9.3. 63-64 grains works for both the 250 Barnes and the 270 Speer.

4064 also works well. Varget didn't give good accuracy for me... 748 did but slower speeds.

Being a VV fan... I really haven't shot any workup loads with N135. N140 didn't do great...

Each rifle is different.