Thread: Un-bluing question.

Default Un-bluing question.

I am new to the whole gun refinishing thing and I have a question. If I am going to try and reblue a firearm, is a dremel tool something that I can use to take the worn out blue off? My plan was to use some of that blue remover chemical and maybe a cloth wheel or something more abrasive to take off the blue. I obviously don't want to damage the firearm but it took me forever to unblue my test piece.

Course if anybody has any better ideas, I'm always open.

Thanks in advance.

Quote Originally Posted by AKF View Post
    I am new to the whole gun refinishing thing and I have a question. If I am going to try and reblue a firearm, is a dremel tool something that I can use to take the worn out blue off? My plan was to use some of that blue remover chemical and maybe a cloth wheel or something more abrasive to take off the blue. I obviously don't want to damage the firearm but it took me forever to unblue my test piece.

Thanks in advance.
    It would be bascially impossible to remove the old finish evenly with a dremel tool. That's kind of like using a weed wacker to do a large lawn. Buffing/polishing wheels on a "grinder" are the way to go. I would suggest you go to Brownells web site and maybe order a book on rebluing.

How good the blue job turns out, is directly related to how well you can buff.

The salt tanks are relatively simple to operate.... It's the buffing job that counts.

Roy, UT. Returning to Glennallen, AK soon.

Default Try Citric Acid

Heat up some citric acid powder in water and soak the steel parts in it for awhile and there should be no oxide left on it, rinse and dry it good. This sure takes heavy rust of steel and professional galvanizers use it before dipping into the zinc.

Roger

Quote Originally Posted by AKF View Post

Thanks in advance.