Thread: Flying

Smile Flying

Here is my situation. I have nine years in the Air Force and just found out a month ago I was approved to come back to Alaska for good in October of this year, as long as I did 20 months in the guard at Eielson AFB. My nine years of experience was working jet engines. I don't have an A&P license, but I have an Associate Degree in Aircraft Maintenance Technology. My family and I want to live in the Anchorage vicinity. My end goal is to become a Certified Flight Instructor. I went up in a Cessna when I was stationed at Eielson AFB in September of 2003 and fell in love with it. I plan on getting my pilot's license and using my G.I. bill to finish the rest. Does anybody know of a place to work as a small aircraft mechanic or helper around Anchorage? I have three kids and wife to support, just don't want to let this dream die, so if anybody knows somebody that could use a dependable guy please let me know! Jason
    "In every walk with nature one receives far more than he seeks." John Muir

First contact your local FSDO, talk to the A&P branch.
    You may be able to get a signoff for the General and Powerplant tests
    based on your AF schools and experience. This will save you time and money.
    Next contact the Flying Club at Elmendorf for information about pilot
    training and A&P work(normally parttime).

Elmendorf Aero Club
    Flight Training Center
    Hangar 7, Bldg. 10286
    Phone (907) 753-4167
    Office Hours
    Mon - Fri 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
    Aircraft available
    7 days/week, 24 hour/day

Check with the VA for the most current Flight training information.

Good Luck

Chugiak, AK

Default GI Bill