Thread: Moose hunting ammo for 7mm RemMag

Default Moose hunting ammo for 7mm RemMag

I got lucky this year and drew a moose tag for the southwestern portion of unit 20B. Since I can shoot a cow my chances are pretty good of going home with some meat for the winter. I am fairly new to hunting in Alaska and hunting big game altogether. I went out last season for seven days and got skunked. Thank you air boaters. My question to the forum is what kind of ammo should I be using and at what range should I be practicing firing at.

I have killed bulls with a 175 TBBC loaded by Federal . As to what ranges to shoot, thats depends on your shooting ability and your knowledge of the round. Good luck, the 7mm is a great round.

Default 7mm

Try 175 gr, Nosler Partitian, zero to +1" high at 100 Yards. I have had success with core-lokt and or hi-shok as well with 175's. Good luck!

Bethel, Cantwell, Fort Yukon, Skagway, Chevak and Point Hope

160 Nosler Partition sighted in a 1.5" high at 100 yards. The first moose I harvested after moving to Alaska many, many moons ago was with a 7 mag at just over 200 yards and the Partition bullet.

I have been practicing with federal vital shock 160grain nosler accu bond. Is this better or worse than the partition? What is the difference? Also where will I hit on the target at 200 yards if I am 1.5" high at 100 yards?

You should be hitting dead on at 200 yards.

Default Try it and see

Quote Originally Posted by colsen
    I have been practicing with federal vital shock 160grain nosler accu bond. Is this better or worse than the partition? What is the difference? Also where will I hit on the target at 200 yards if I am 1.5" high at 100 yards?
    My advice is to shoot 'em at 200 yards and find out.

Not because I distrust ballistic tables - they've proven dead-on for my rifles - but because nothing prepares you for shooting at 200 yards like shooting at 200 yards.