Thread: Moving family

Default Moving family

I am a 25 year old father of three.
    I am tired (like so many) of the race we all run to maintain our lifestyles and the toll this takes on our families.
    My wife and I have been discussing the option of moving to Alaska (or somewhere similiar) and pursueing a closer to the land and more importantly closer to each other lifestyle.
    We are Christians conservatives and are not looking to get back to nature and go green (no offense, I just want to make it clear we are looking for a closer family) although this is inevitable.
    How should we go about this? What areas are condusive to this? She does want electricity and running water to start with but we need to be out enough to hunt effectively and have land available for doing this (public land??)
    I have extensive experience in hunting, carpentry, farming, etc...
    We are not going into this blindly but with the hope of bettering our family for the future. I am scared of the thought of my children's children and how they will be. We are taking a step back I believe with out modern society. I am wanting to escape the rat race of working to maintain our conveniences although I understand they make some parts of life much easier.

Please offer advice, we understand this is very hard and are thinking about it long and hard.

I am currently in pre-med at a university and have a great future ahead of me. But the future is all me, not what my family needs to grow closer.

The dream of leaving in the morning and taking my sons to go hunt or trap or gather firewood leaves me with a smile every time. I hope I do not forget the hardships involved with these tasks in this environment.

Thank you,

North Pole, Alaska

Default Welcome to the Boards!

Welcome to the Outdoors Directory board! I hope that you can find that this site will be incredibly helpful. Just jump in and ask many, many questions.