Thread: Thinking about taking up the bow

Default Thinking about taking up the bow

Been thinking of taking up the bow a little. I know next to nothing about bow hunting.

How hard would it be for me and the kids to get started? It would be something we could learn together and possibly go out and try some small game hunting once we get some skills down. The only range I know of is the one at Kincade park.

How much cash would it take to outfit one adult and an 8 and 12 year old with stuff that would be good for target as well as small game hunting?

Sorry for the complete newbie sound of this post, but like I said, I know nothing of bow hunting. Any tips or shops in Anchorage you would recommend would be appreciated.

Smile Don't Do It!...it's A Sickness

Before you know it you will have feathers all over the house and your house will stink of paint fumes from arrow making.

You will be shooting bows inside the house with your kids when your wife is away. (Learn how to patch drywall) It starts out innocently enough, on a cold winter day with your new bow you dream and wonder how well it will shoot. "Just one little shot, we will opend the door to the garage and shoot through the kitchen into the garage" Then next thing you realize is there is a full blown archery tournament at your house and the whole neighborhood is invited...

It is a great past time, the initial investment in equipment can be a little steep but it will provide a lifetime of healthy fun.

I have purchased bows and arrows on Ebay with few problems. There are also archery clubs throughout the state that can assist you with getting set up. I am sure someone on this board can point you in the right direction for your area.

Mac