Thread: Chitina dipnetting

Default Chitina dipnetting

So how much attention does everyone pay to the fishing report hotline from copper river charters/Chitina one-stop? Does it affect when you go?

The way I see it is if Hems makes a living by dropping folks off on the Copper and his hotline says don't come it sucks you got to believe he is telling the truth. He seems to have a good feel for what the river is going to do and how the fishing might be. Its not gospel but another piece of information you can use before dropping x amount of dollars on fuel to get there.

Thats about what I thought, but its so **** fun I am trying to ignore the "it sucks" report. I am new to dipping at Chitina and folks seem to whine about having to fish for 8-12 hours for their limit when it sucks. That seems pretty good to me as a newbie. I guess I am trying to feel out what the definition of "sucks" is. I can't wait to experience the "great" (and so I can whine later too).

Default mark is honest

I have known mark for a long time he knows the river better as well as anyone. He basis his report on the odds a person can catch their limit in 10 hours of fishing if he says it sucks save your gas money. Best bet wait for the upcoming bonus weeks.

I agree, I trust what Mark is saying. Like said before he knows the river better than anyone. He sees what people are harvisting so he should know. I totally go off his report. I wonder how much his truthfull reports hurt his business when it's been slow for the past month?

Where can I find this report you are referencing?

Default Report line

907-823-2200, last updated Wednesday...last I checked an hour ago

Sucks can be defined as 1 fish after 12 hours of netting. Great can be defined as 90 fish by three people in 4 hours. Last year was great.

Quote Originally Posted by AKFishOn View Post
    Sucks can be defined as 1 fish after 12 hours of netting. Great can be defined as 90 fish by three people in 4 hours. Last year was great.