Thread: Can Am

Default Can Am

A question for the experienced. I'm new to this and I'm considering buying a Can Am 650.

Based on what all of you have read and experienced, are these good machines? know of any problems, etc.

Thanks...

I don't have the 650, but I do have the '07 XT 800 Outlander. Only problem that I had was the ignition went out on mine. Why, I don't know, but as you probably already know, the Can-Am's come with a 3-year warranty.

Price is a turn-off, but you pay for the best. And you might as well get the XT package so you can get the winch (already installed), brush guard and the "better" tires. Also, get some hand and thumb warmers. You'll thank yourself later if you like to ride in the winter.

Also, plenty of power. That won't be an issue.

I really don't like where the shifter is at with it being on the right side. I prefer it on the left, like the Arctic Cat's (don't like to have to take the thumb off the throttle ).

The automatic diff-lock seems to work just fine. I personally like having the diff-lock being manual, so I can decide when to use/need it, instead of the other way around.

One of my co-workers has two Can-Ams. a 500 and a 650. He and his son are VERY agressive riders but the machines have not held up too well. Several cracks to the frames and numerous trips back to the dealer for welding and reinforcing. $3600 in repairs in three years. If you search some web sites you will find that they (can-am) know of this problem but have not went to a stronger frame. The square tube steel is thinner then other brands. Check for your self. My buddy does like the engines and drive systems - they have been flawless. Your money - you decide.

Quote Originally Posted by jupiterak View Post