Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Moose hunting packs

Default Moose hunting packs

Curious what people out there use/suggest for backpacks for moose hunting, where there is a distinct possibility of hiking out hundreds and hundreds of pounds of meat several miles. I have lots of backpacking experience with internal frame packs and can easily handle a heavy pack, but have never owned an external frame pack.

I would like to buy my pack from REI since you can't beat there return everything indefinitely policy, but the only one they carry is this:

http://www.rei.com/product/734285

Would that be adequate?

Thanks.

Default Moose pack

asrjb, if your looking for a pack to haul out moose, i would go with external frame, brand is up to you, I used a barneys hunter pack and carnivore frame to haul out 140 lb. hind quarters last year off the haul road because it was walk-in only. i have used an internal frame kelty before, and its not as comfortable when hauling heavy loads of meat, the external frame keeps the load off your body, and with the barneys you actually put the load on your hips rather than your back.

I second the barneys setup but it is a bunch more than $140. I would pony up at least another bill and get the Cabelas extreme AK. That is if you are going to use it with the bag to hunt from. If you just need a meat frame then contact barneys and get the Carnivore frame then just lash the meat too it and go! Also the cabelas frame can be purchased seperately for pretty cheap.
    Here is me testing my new Barneys frame with their Pinnacle bag. Rumor has it this pack will hold an entire quarter right in the bag! I don't know about that but it sure hauls a 4yo and a 6yo (a little more that 100lbs) with room to spare

Default Moose Pack