Thread: Crescent Lake - Need Tips

Default Crescent Lake - Need Tips

My group is renting mountain bikes out of cooper landing and taking the 6 mile ride to crescent lake. Does anyone have any tips on lures or tackle that catch the grayling? This is my first time targeting them and I figure some light tackle with #0 spinners or some dry flies would work.. Any suggestions?

Grayling and flies are a beautiful thing! For dries I would go with caddis flies, black gnats, and misquitoe's. I would never go without nymphs either! For them I would go with prince nymphs, zug bug's, and phesant tail nymph's. I would also bring a few emerger's, but you can just fish those dries damp...
    I haven't fished with hardware for several years but when I did, small silver vibrex and small panther martin's did the job quite well.
    Watch for bears along the trail if you are mountain biking. I have gone around a corner to fine a bear sitting right in the middle of the trail and going too fast to stop and get turned around. Lucky it spooked and ran into the woods one way, while I was doing my best to go wide and get around on the other side of the trail...
    Last edited by Alaskan Fly Guy; 07-04-2008 at 12:22. Reason: spelling

Alaskan Fly Guy,

Is there any side of the lake thats better than the other? Also how the rainbow fishing there?