Thread: Hit the Kasilof

Default Hit the Kasilof

OTF Index (off shore test fishery) was 234

EO # 7 closes july 3rd 8pm for the kasilof section; EO # 8 opens on July 5th; this should be a great weekend for dipping!

907-262-9611 is the recorded hotline for comm fish; call just in case anything changes.
    "He who is slow to anger is better than the mighty, and he who rules his spirit is better than he who takes a city." ~ Proverbs 16:32

Just so I'm reading this correctly (bare with me, my first season of dipnetting...): The commercial fishery closes at 8 PM on Thursday and re-opens on Saturday? I called the hotline and they mentioned the 36-hour mandatory closure starting Thursday night. I'm going down tomorrow so I guess that means I shouldn't wait around till Saturday to do some dippin'....

I am not sure I understand, but I am new to all of this as last year was my first year dipping. Thanks for the info you guys are sharing on here - it's appreciated.

The offshore test index for July 3 appears to be 66 which is down from 233 the day before. The fish counts for the Kasilof only increased from 2944 on 2 July to 3150 on 3 July. And the fish count on the Kenai actually went back down again (2791 to 2638) . Doesn't this seem to indicate that this weekend is looking quiet?

Default What's the website for the Kenai fish count?

Quote Originally Posted by Bal View Post
    I am not sure I understand, but I am new to all of this as last year was my first year dipping. Thanks for the info you guys are sharing on here - it's appreciated.

The offshore test index for July 3 appears to be 66 which is down from 233 the day before. The fish counts for the Kasilof only increased from 2944 on 2 July to 3150 on 3 July. And the fish count on the Kenai actually went back down again (2791 to 2638) . Doesn't this seem to indicate that this weekend is looking quiet?
    Can some one post the web URL for the Kenai fish counts?

Jim