Thread: Fillet Station Near Kenai/Kasilof?

Default Fillet Station Near Kenai/Kasilof?

Filet Station Near Kenai/Kasilof

Anyone have any advice/recommendations for fillet tables near Kenai/Kasilof. Where do you fillet your catch?

A few years ago as a newbie, I made the mistake of taking my fish home to fillet and v-seal. Won't ever do that again.

I've taken it to a processor to vacuum seal and fillet and I didnt get my fish back. Won't ever do that again.

My recommendation is bring a saw horse or ironing board and clean and gut right on the beach. One year I did the ironing board thing but have found sawhorses and scrap wood work the best.

Now, I fillet before I get home and v-seal at home. The past few years I have found a few stations along the Kenai, (public access/boat launch areas) but its a lot of work to haul a full 152 qt cooler down to the rivers edge (100 yards) and I always wonder the legality of it.

Some F&G warden 30 miles up river that sees me and a buddy filleting 100 fish gets suspicious. (Isn't it illegal to take from Kasilof and discard carcasses in Kenai? Ie. Those illegal transporting of fish commercials)

I have always thought if Im headed back to Anchorage, a 30 mile down to the Seward harbor for a nice cleaning station with clean water isnít that long of a side trip.

Any other ideas? Feel free to share or ask questions.

See you out there,

Anchorage, AK

When I am dipnetting at the Kasilof I stay at the Stedi Campground. It is located a few miles north along K-beach road.

This place was once a cannery and they have a nice stainless steel table with sinks and water for cleaning your catch. We gut the fish on the beach on a sawhorse and then fillet and v-pack at the campground.

I believe that they do offer fish cleaning only for a small fee to use the facility. May want to call and see what they offer. The owners are also dipnetters and really friendly folks.