Thread: Fishing guide for PWS?

Default Fishing guide for PWS?

I have the "cruising guide for PWS" but it really doesn't mention much, if anything, about fishing. It would be nice to have a book dedicated to fishing out of the sound. Anyone know of such a book? I'm new to this boating thing and need help with all the where/when/what/how's.

big red alaska map book ? by delorme has some spots noted
    RETIRED U.S.A.F. CAPT.; LIFETIME MEMBER NRA; LIFETIME MEMBER ALASKA BOWHUNTER ASSOC.
    MASTER BOWHUNTER EDUCATION INSTRUCTOR; MEMBER UNITED BLOOD TRACKERS; POPE & YOUNG MEASURER

There is no such book, at least I haven't heard of one.

You just need to take a chart of the sound and look at structure. The underwater pinacles and plateus that get a decent tide washing the smaller critters to the bigger ones are where to look. There has also been alot of discussion of fishing out of Whittier in the fishing forum.

In general you have to run pretty far out to get into consistant fish. Fish can be found closer in, but plan to run out to Naked or Knight before dropping lines, and if you have an appropriate boat and water consider the run out to Montague.

PS, don't be afraid to fish deep, i.e 300, 450 even 600 feet.

Default PWS